Sharing and Permissions

Whether you're writing your script, planning your production, or are well into your principal photography, chances are you're not doing it alone. Celtx makes sharing easy, specific, and in real time.

Sharing is available to all users. Paid users will also have the option to set advanced permissions.

If you are subscribed to a Professional or Education plan, please contact your Account Specialist regarding the permissions schema of your plan.

 

Table of Contents

   
Basics Advanced  
Sharing your Project Managing Collaborators of Varying Plans  
Setting Permissions    
Team Management    
Leaving a Project    

 

Sharing your Project

What Happens when you Share your Project

Whenever you share a project with a colleague, Celtx will send them an email indicating that you are inviting them to collaborate on that project with you.

When you share a project with a user with an existing Celtx account, the project will automatically appear in their list of projects within their own Studio, and they'll be able to begin collaborating, depending on the permissions that were assigned.

If the user does not have an existing account, they will first be invited to set up their own Celtx Studio before they can begin collaborating.

While a project can be shared with any user, if you are a Paid user, and would like to allow collaborators access to the features available in your subscription, please see the article Adding & Removing A Paid Collaborator.

 

How to Share your Project

 

To share a Project, click the "Share" button, found within the Studio and Document views. 

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_3.26.51_PM.png

To invite new collaborators, add one or more email addresses in the email field, in the left-side menu, separated by a comma. Collaborators who are already in your collaborators list can be added by typing a portion of their email address or name and selecting them from the suggestions, each will be added beneath the email field.

You can also add a message, which will be sent to all collaborators you've just added to the project.

Once you have confirmed the email address, set the collaborators' permissions (if on a Paid subscription). Click "Share" to send them an invitation email.

Setting Permissions

Project Owners have the ability to set permissions for anyone they invite to their Project.

When adding a new collaborator, permissions will be set to “Edit All Documents” by default. Click on the checkmark icon, then select “Advanced” to choose which project documents to share and the level of access to be granted. Permissions can also be adjusted at any point during the project (see Adjusting Permissions below). Click “Done” to confirm the permissions.

 

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_2.51.16_PM.png

 

Shared Documents

Use the checkmarks to the left of each document to indicate which to share with your collaborator:

Highlighted Checkmark

Document will be shared with collaborator.

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_4.18.57_PM.png

Grayed out Checkmark

Document will not be shared with collaborator.

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_4.19.12_PM.png

   

Document Permissions

Use the drop-down menu to the right of each shared document to specify how your collaborator will be able to interact with it:

Edit Edit the shared document.
Read Only Read, but not edit, the shared document.
   

Script-specific Permissions (NOTE: All include permission to edit script)

Tag All Can tag items in the script for both the Breakdown and the Shotlist
Tag Breakdown

Can only tag items in the script for the Breakdown

Tag Shotlist Can only tag items in the script for the Shotlist

 

Team Management

You can manage who you’ve shared a project with and their document permissions from the Team page. After opening a project, you’ll see this listed on the left-side menu.

It lists the collaborators of a project, as well as those who have been invited but have not yet created a Celtx account, a status known as "Pending". Existing Celtx users are added to Projects automatically, without the need to accept an invitation.

The Team page also allows you to remove collaborators from your project, as well as adjust their permissions.

 

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_2.44.59_PM.png

 

Adjusting Permissions

Collaborators' permissions can be adjusted at any point during the project. To do so, click on the menu icon next to their name and select “Edit Permissions.”

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_4.12.46_PM.png

Use the checkmarks to the left to indicate which documents will be shared with the collaborator. Use the drop-down menus to the right to set the permissions for each shared document.

You can also choose whether or not your collaborator has the ability to share project documents with other users. Just use the "Can Share" toggle at the top to turn this on or off.

Screen_Shot_2022-01-28_at_4.07.25_PM.png

Removing a Collaborator from a Project

To remove a collaborator from a Project, simply click the menu icon next to their name and select “Remove.” You'll also find a "Remove" option under the "Edit Permissions" view. Documents, such as Sides, that removed collaborators have contributed to the project will remain in the Project's "Additional Files" section.

If you are looking to remove a paid collaborator from your account, please see the article on how to Add and Remove Paid Collaborators.

Managing Permissions of Collaborators across varying Plans

Regardless of subscription type, all Celtx users – even those using our free plan – can collaborate on a shared Project.

However, a user's ability to edit a given document type or make use of a given feature is determined by their individual subscription. Free users will have access only to the Script Editor, with limited access to additional features, while Paid users will be able to edit and make use of additional features as dictated by their subscription type.

Leaving a Project that has been Shared with you

To leave a project that you have been invited to, simply move that Project to the Trash. To do this, select the checkbox beside the Project name, and select the trashcan icon that appears at the top of the screen.

This will not affect anyone else's experience of the Project, but simply removes the project from your Studio. Please note that you cannot reverse this action; you will have to be re-invited by a collaborator with invite privileges to rejoin the project.

Have more questions? Submit a request