Offline Mode

Hitting the road? Celtx has you covered with Offline Mode (Beta) – available to all trial and professional subscriptions with use of Film & TV scripts within your Chrome browser. No additional software required!

With Offline Mode, whether your working alone or in a team, you can take your script – and the power of the Celtx Script Editor – wherever you go.

 

Enabling Offline Mode

To enable Offline Mode, simply select 'File' and 'Go Offline' from your Script Editor. You'll be provided a link, which you can bookmark or save on your desktop for easy access.

Save_Your_Offline_Link.png

Note that once Offline Mode is enabled, the online script – and other Project Documents – will be 'locked' as 'read-only' for anyone accessing the Project online: including yourself.

Working Offline

Once your script is in Offline Mode – whether your device has an active internet connection at the time, or not – you will notice that certain features will be disabled. This is because Offline Mode allows you to edit your script, but does not include the ability to edit additional Writing or Planning documents – like Index Cards or Breakdown. These features will return upon bringing your script back online.

You can take more than once script offline at a time, as well. When your device does not have an active internet connection, pointing your browser to celtx.com will bring you to a menu containing all the offline scripts contained on your device.

Offline_Menu.png

While Offline Mode is enabled, you are free to close your browser – even shutdown your device: your script will be waiting for you when you return. Working in Offline Mode, you must use the same browser and the same browser profile as was used to take the script offline.

Bringing your Script Back Online

Back to homebase? You can bring your script back online as easy as you took it offline. Simply select 'File' and 'Go Online' to bring your script – and the rest of your Project – back online.

Forcing a Project Back Online

One of your collaborators' stuck in traffic but you need to update today's call sheet? No worries, any project Owner can 'Force a Script Back Online'. Just click "Force back online" to immediate re-activate your studio.

Force_Project_Back_Online.png

Don't worry about your collaborator's hard work being lost: once they take their script back online, their revisions will be held in the 'History'.  You can access that script by selecting 'File' and then 'History'. You can copy and paste portions of that script directly into the latest version, or revert the entire version to the working script by clicking 'Restore'.

Questions?

What does Offline Mode "Beta" mean? Is this feature secure?

Yes! This "Beta" designation refers to the fact that it is presently available on Chrome only. Our intention is to roll it out to all three of our supported browsers, as well as build in additional functionality going forward.

How does this work? Is it magic?

Science, my dear Watson. When you enable Offline Mode for a script, your script – along with Celtx's Script Editor application – is saved to your browser's cache, which is where your browser saves information that helps it load pages quickly and remember session information, for example.

It's like you're downloading Celtx and your script, and running it all through your browser (well, it's not like that...it's exactly that). 

Is there a time limit for how long I can keep my script offline? 

No. However, it is good practice to bring your script back online regularly. This will ensure there is a copy of it saved to your online studio.

I'm clicking the link I saved to my browser, but it's not working! Why?

This is almost always due to one of two reasons:

  1. Your device doesn't not have Google Chrome  set as its default browser.
  2. You are selecting a link to a script you already brought back online.

In either of these cases, the easiest fix is to point your browser to celtx.com, where your Offline Mode menu lives. This will display all offline scripts available to this browser.

What if the device containing my offline script is abducted by Martians? What happens to my project?

If for any reason your device is made unusable, there will not be any way to recover those edits.

However – the progress that you've made while working online will be! If you are working in a team and are not the owner, the owner can simply Force the project back online. If you are working solo or are the owner of a collaborative project, you can simply select your project from your online studio and then click 'Duplicate', to create an exact copy of that project to work from once more.

Have more questions? Submit a request